Gamers Blog


The classic 2D Sonic the Hedgehog games that started it all are coming back in one collection, and SEGA has all the details on it. Sonic Origins is on the way to PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X|S, Nintendo Switch and PC as a digital release, just in time for Sonic’s birthday on June 23.


RELATED: Third Sonic the Hedgehog Movie Announced Along with Live-Action Series


The $39.99 base price nets you the main game—more on that below—which includes Sonic the Hedgehog, Sonic the Hedgehog 2, Sonic the Hedgehog 3/Sonic & Knuckles and Sonic CD. Check out the announcement trailer for a peek at the games and bonuses.



Here’s the full breakdown of what each version offers:


Sonic Origins – Digital Pre-Order Bonus


Sonic Origins- Digital Standard – $39.99


Sonic Origins – Digital Deluxe – $44.99

  • Main Game

  • Difficult Missions Added

  • Letter Box

  • Characters in Main Menu

  • Island Camera on Main Menu

  • Character Animation in Music Playback

  • Exclusive Tracks from Mega Drive Titles


Sonic Origins – Premium & Classic Sound Packs – $3.99


Source: Press release




Joseph Luster is the Games and Web editor at Otaku USA Magazine and the Editor-in-Chief of Sci Fi Magazine. You can read his comics at subhumanzoids. Follow him on Twitter @Moldilox.