Gamers Blog



The official website for Magademy Award 2021, the Japanese manga industry’s first award to honor characters held by Toppan Printing’s digital bookstore BookLive, announced the winners for its five categories – Best Leading Actor, Best Leading Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, and Jury Special Award.


Online voting for the nomination, which could be made for any manga character in any genres that appeared in the book form (print and digital) in Japan from December 1, 2020, to November 20, 2021, was conducted from December 9, 2021 to January 5, 2022. Then, each nominated character was scored from a total of seven unique perspectives, including “charisma,” “witty remark,” “courageous/inspiring,” and “match with the modern age.” The winning characters were selected after a thorough discussion on their charm, not just a score evaluation. 


Only the Jury Special Award was decided after each member of the jury presented his or her favorite character to each other. In memory of Guts from Berserk, who lived strongly, and in memory of the manga’s author, Kentaro Miura, who passed away suddenly last year, the award was presented to Guts.





“Best Leading Actor” winner:


Totonou Kunou (Do Not Say Mystery)




  • Eren Yeager (Attack on Titan)
  • Sakamichi Onoda (Yowamushi Pedal)
  • Totonou Kunou (Do Not Say Mystery)
  • Mutta Nanba (Space Brothers)
  • Bojji (Ranking of Kings)  




“Best Leading Actress” winner:


Yona (Yona of The Dawn):




  • Hayame Katsuragi (Promise Cinderella)
  • Yoi Takiguchi (In The Clear Moonlight Dusk)
  • Frieren (Frieren: Beyond Journey’s End)
  • Mao Mao (The Apothecary Diaries: The Palace Cloister Mystery-Solving Notebook of Mao Mao)




Best Supporting Actor” winner:


Manjiro Sano (Tokyo Revengers):




  • Toru Amuro (The Detective Conan)
  • Kage (Ranking of Kings)
  • Manjiro Sano (Tokyo Revengers)
  • Levi Ackerman (Attack on Titan)




“Best Supporting Actress” winner:


Shinobu Wakamiya (Chihayafuru):




  • Yoko Sato (The Fable)
  • Yua Takahashi (Tomorrow I Will Be Someone’s Girlfriend)




Jury Special Award winner:


Guts (Berserk):



“Magademy Award 2021” trophy:





Source: BookLive press release 


© MAGADEMY AWARD All rights reserved.